The Novels

Book 1 – The Hematite Horses (2009, 2017)  © Kiera Polzin

Kate Williston is a twelve-year-old girl who thinks her biggest problems are going to a new school, seeing less of her best friend, and growing taller.  But that’s all about to change on the day her best friend, Jason, leads her through a Postern door to another planet, guarded by a strange pair of horses made of hematite.  Upon their return, Kate is forced to confront the disconnect she feels from her family when spending an afternoon on a strange world costs fourteen months of time back on Earth.  All of a sudden Kate is the girl whose face has been plastered on missing posters, an abduction victim in denial, and she must struggle to take charge of her own life.

Buy The Hematite Horses


Book 2 – The Navigator (2010) © Kiera Polzin

A companion novel to the first book, we are introduced to a new character who observes and intervenes in the story, at first unbeknowst to Jason and Kate.  When their paths finally collide, true motives are revealed and the conclusion will determine everyone’s destiny.

The Other Grace (2018) © Kiera Polzin

Before or After, Depending on Your Point of View

My name is Grace Weber.  I am forty-five years old.  And all the rest of it?  I suppose I am just guessing.  Before Dr. Robert Paulson proved his Divergent Event Theory, and taught the human race to SKID, Slide Kinetically through Inter-Dimensions, I read somewhere that temporal singularity, otherwise known as a point of divergence, is a concept in speculative fiction.  Apparently it is an item or event, triggered by an occurrence that results in divergent narratives, in which the singularity alters the new timeline away from a prior default state, leaving behind a parallel universe in which the singularity did not occur.  Okay, that right there, is not fiction, nor is it speculative, not that I even understand all that stuff I just said.  I do know that the hypothetical analysis of my past involves suffering, because maybe I cannot change the outcome.  Forgiveness or regret or obsession is my past.  Worry is my future.  Pain or acceptance is my present.

“If we find ourselves with a desire that nothing in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that we were made for another world.”

–C.S. Lewis

The Eaters of Sin (2018) © Kiera Polzin


One response to “The Novels

  1. Kara Cunningham

    Your series concept is wonderful! I especially love the title. Now I just need to get my hands on the book…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s