Now What?

I did it. I finished my thesis. It took 17 of the last 27 years. It wasn’t always easy being a part-time student and a full time adult. I have a letter that states that on graduation day I “will have satisfied all requirements for the BACHELOR OF ARTS Honours in English and Minor in Creative Writing at the University of British Columbia. The degree is expected to be awarded in May 2016.”

Now what?

‘Not done yet’ has been my universal excuse to put off a great many things, the biggest of which has been having to answer the question: ‘now what?’ Unfortunately, I may have to finally figure out the answer to that question. Or not.

Honestly, for the better part of the last 25 years, I have not been able to answer that question, so why would now be any different?

For a few weeks I have been struggling, because ‘not done yet’ was my shield from the question: ‘now what?’ Without that shield, I feel exposed.

I suppose the question of ‘now what’ is just what most graduates and post-graduates face. Applying for a graduate degree, Masters of Fine Arts, where my thesis project is a novel of publishable length, is of interest, but grad school applications are a competitive process. Just because I want to do it, does not mean I will be accepted. The program I want to apply to has only a 25% acceptance rate.

So, for now, I take a step back. Try not to think about it too much. Applications for an MFA are open between August 1 and October 15.

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “Now What?

  1. Well done Kiera! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

