The Narrative of Facebook

It reminds me of the “Choose Your Own Adventure” books I read as a kid.  The narrative told on my Facebook book is not the narrative you read this morning on your page, because I’ve chosen to add different friends than you, even though we may have many friends and likes in common.  900,000,000 million users = 900,000,000 different stories.

So, it seems to me, the only way to make money from people who ‘read’ Facebook every morning is to advertise to them in the right hand column of their computer screen.  And this is a different narrative, individualized to my personal likes.  Except that I have trained myself not to read the margins, ever.

Do you remember when you could put in a DVD and it took you straight to the menu and all you had to do is click ‘play’ on your remote?  Then came advertising that played before the main menu, and I didn’t really mind.  I love movie trailers almost as much as the movies themselves, (because, let’s face it, sometimes—too many times—the trailer is better than the movie).  And do you remember when the first HD channels had ten minutes of filler at the end of the show, giving you a preview of other HD programming coming up?  The preview was so long you almost thought you had started to watch the next show, until they suddenly came on and informed you in not so many words that they were just killing time until the start of the next hour.  That was because not that many households had HD yet, and the network hadn’t managed to sell a whole television hour’s worth of advertising time.  Now HD channels seem to fill the ad space the same as everyone else, and I barely notice because I’ve been habitualized to seeing ads on television my whole life.

The reason for the rant is this:  I would be unbelievably upset if the ebooks I read were suddenly filled with advertisements in the margins.  I am reading the book to read the story, not be advertised to.  Blogs are another avenue for advertisers to splatter us, (and I tell the advertisers once again, I am ignoring you!)  The topics of personal blogs seem to most likely be something the blogger is particularly obsessed interested in.  And advertisers with products for that particular interest hone in and try to make money.  Manfred Steger’s “Globalization: A Very Short Introduction” says two year old Americans already have brand recognition, yikes!  Thankfully, Word Press has fabulous spam filters to keep my site as clean from this as possible.  I just think it is a flawed (and sometimes intrusive) system to try and make money, and not a valid business model.  So I’m not surprised that Facebook, which seems to rely 100% on this system, is floundering a little on the stock market.   And I suppose my real problem is that I will probably have to become a reluctant participant in this system as a way of selling my ebook.  So no offense to bloggers that use advertising to fund their endeavors, I may be one someday, big sigh.  But I’ll say right now, I’m not happy about it, and I wish there was another way.  And I also say that in my fantasy world (the world of the Hematite Horses), there is no advertising for basic need products (food, etc.).  Rest assured, there are other forms of brain washing advertising on my other worlds, but you’ll have to read my books some day to find out, and I’m working on that.

Anyhow, I thought I’d blog because I may or may not get some writing done today.  I have a few big work days ahead of me, then I should be back in the saddle on Monday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

