Maybe I’d Rather Just Write Than Actually Publish?

Instead of looking into getting an ISBN number today, I wrote 487 words on my second novel.  And this is significant because I’m pretty sure it’s been two years since I wrote anything on it.  Really?  Two years?  Wait, I don’t believe that.  Let’s see.  I started this blog February of 2011.  Really?  I have to double check that date also.  Yes, February  4, 2011, was my first blog entry, and at that time I hadn’t written anything on the novel since the previous May (2010).  Wow, that means I have been procrastinating working on my second novel for not just months, but for years.

Apparently, I was so desperate not to deal with the whole ‘publishing to do list’ I’ve created, that I finally wrote something, instead of just thinking about it.  What does that say about my avoidance behavior now?

In all truth though, I did come across a web site from Collections Canada, which looks like a governing body for ISBN numbers, and there was something about self publishers on the site.  But for some reason, I was getting so wound up emotionally that I just stopped reading the web page and desperate to do anything other than deal with it, I started rewriting Chapter 10 of “The Navigator,” the companion novel to my first book, “The Hematite Horses.”

As weird as I feel about my behavior, (I’m wound tighter than my Rat Terrier at the moment), I’m happy I finally wrote something new.  I truly love to write.  What a great escape it was.  Plus, I was doing a re-write of Chapter 10, which has been my writing road block, and chucking out the first draft of that chapter and starting fresh felt wonderful.  So tomorrow, I will go back to the Collections Canada web site, and check it out.

9 Comments

Filed under Writing

9 responses to “Maybe I’d Rather Just Write Than Actually Publish?

  1. Haha Bo is jumping for joy XD That reminds me, yesterday we rescued a Jack Russell terrier. Her name is Zoey and she’s so tiny she’s even smaller than Tigger XD But she’s sweet and she needed a good home so we’re giving her one 😀

  2. I’m jumping for joy too. 🙂 I need to be writing as well as moving forward with publishing, and now I feel like I’m doing that.

  3. Why do you want to self-publish??? You should be sending your book off to the publishers, trying to do it that way! It has the potential for that, I think. To me, it always seems like self-publishing should be a last resort.

  4. Self publishing can be a last resort. And it’s not like a have a wall papered with rejections to send me down this path. Instead, I’ve been sitting at the back of the bus with a fence built up that I really need to break through. This is my way of grabbing a hold of the steering wheel.

  5. David

    I wonder if self-publishing could be considered more of a spring-board than a last resort – I suspect there are a number of authors who started as self-published and then were picked up by a publisher later on… (though I have no data whatsoever to support this suspicion 🙂

  6. I heard of an award winning book which started out self-published, and after getting pick-up by a main stream publisher, it won something. But after 20 minutes of googling, I can’t find it. Anyhow, suffice to say I think it can be a spring-board too. 🙂

  7. shelagh

    Fifty shades of gray started out as a self published e-book perhapse you’ve heard of it

  8. David

    25 years ago there was no world wide web, 10 years ago there was no facebook, 5 years ago there weren’t any ebook readers, and last year sales of ebooks have quadrupled as people are moving in masses to electronic books… the landscape for authors and self-publishers is as vast and open as ever, and the ability to self-publish has never been more accessible as now. And although traditional ‘old-fashioned’ book sales are declining (which has publishers worried), ebooks are only just starting to take off. I think the old days of waiting for months (or years) to get your book published, and then having to pay (or miss out on) profits when your book does begin to sell are coming to a close. A publisher does (or should do) a good job of marketing your work, but that certainly comes at a cost, and while it would be nice to just sit back and write, and let the ‘great machine’ take care of the business end of things, the new landscape of social / digital media is changing everything… get a thousand people to read your book, and if it’s good (and I think it is) viral marketing will take over…

Leave a Reply

