Trying to do too much

After watching the movie Bridesmaids, I did a sort of ‘where are they now’ web search and found a particular star’s web site that hadn’t been updated in almost three years.  Now I don’t feel so bad about not blogging since February 1.

When last I blogged, I was…how shall I say…freaking out about my ‘write it in class’ essay.  I ended up writing my essay out on flash cards and memorizing it three hours before class.  I got 89% on the essay, just about an A+.  Then I went on a long planned vacation with my husband to Hawaii, missed three classes, and ending up getting 65% on my midterm when I got back.  Not unexpected, but still disappointing.

My sister read a fascinating article about hobbies where the thesis was that pretty much everyone cannot expect to have more than four to five hobbies or activities on the go at any one time.  Try for more than that, and something will have to suffer.  I made a rough list and I came up with about ten things I could deem hobbies or activities that I do in addition to work and school.  Some are seasonal, like camping and gardening, and I think this explains why every time I’m off school for the summer my great expectations to have all this free time for writing goes right out the window.  I am trying to do too much.

I’m just going to have to accept that I cannot do everything I want to do.  I think I need to prioritize four or five things, and just let the other stuff go for now, lest all of them will suffer.  The best solution, but of course it is not always possible, is to try to combine some hobbies and activities together.  Like spending time with friends while exercising.  Coffee at a friend’s house is great, but it’s a bigger time commitment than you would think.  If I go for a half hour walk and an hour coffee break (with driving time), that’s an hour and a half of my day right there.  As I said, it’s not always possible, but a 45 minute walk and chat with a friend is two for the time price of one.  I know this seems very logical, a no-brainer, if you will, but I really have to figure this out from a mathematical time preservation point of view, or I am setting myself up for a disappointing summer of blog entries about why I never make it over to the computer to work on my novel.  This is Moneyball for time wasters.

Another idea is maybe dictating my writing to my iPhone while I garden this summer.  My neighbors might think I’m talking to myself, but that’s a price I’m willing to pay.  I’m going to give it a try at least, and see if transcribing the voice memos later turns out to be a manageable chore.  In fact, this blog entry that I came up with in the shower this morning was even better in its first draft than my attempt to recreate it now on the page.  I should have had an iPhone (in a waterproof cover perhaps) to dictate to right there and then when it first popped into my head.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

