Silas Marner

Okay, this Victorian Novel course I’m taking has a format I haven’t seen at university since 2006, namely, examinations.  Lots and lots of them.  There are two in class quizzes, a midterm, a final, and an essay that we also have to write in class.  I’ve done one of the quizzes, which was last Friday, and it was difficult.  (I’ve even spent the last five days obsessing on the questions I knew I got wrong the moment I left the classroom).  Now this Friday, two days from now, is the in class essay.  Truthfully, I don’t even know where to begin with preparing for an in class essay, because I haven’t had to anything like it since I took Advanced Composition in 2006.  Since then, all my English courses have consisted of papers, essays, and research projects you do at home, and then hand in.  No midterms, no finals.  So I’ve locked myself in my office for the rest of the day, and I’m not leaving this room until I pre-write the damn essay.  Then I can spend the all day tomorrow memorizing it.  Really, I can’t think of any other way to do it.  Just make an outline and wing it Friday?  I don’t think I can do that.  So either way I decide, I’m kind of freaking out at the moment, and that is keeping me from starting to do anything at all.  Blogging right now is my way of trying to talk myself off the ledge, so to speak.

Anyhow, the quiz was on the first two novels we’ve covered, and so is the essay.  Jane Eyre I’ve already mentioned, and now I’ve also finished reading George Eliot’s Silas Marner.  I liked Jane Eyre more than Silas Marner, but I’m just glad we didn’t have to read Eliot’s Middlemarch, because it’s about three times longer than Silas Marner.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

