No Doubt

I just turned on another movie where the back story is about writer who is having trouble writing.  Man, how do I keep finding these?  And this happens today, on the heels of watching the television movie version of Bag of Bones, where the main character Mike Noonan is, wait for it, a writer.  Does this happen because screenplays and teleplays are written by writers, and writers are told to write about what we know?  Therefore, it is just too tempting to write our main character in our own image, and to throw in a little drama, we must have our main character, the writer, struggling with their craft.

Anyhow, the particular writer in this movie, played by the actress Keira Knightley, just said her first novel was no problem, but she was second guessing and doubting every word she tried to write too much to finish a second novel.  Of course, I can relate.  With my first novel, I was more worried about whether I could accomplish the task, to think of much else.  Any doubts I had were about my ability to write, start to finish, the entire novel.  With my second novel however, I know I have the ability to write an entire novel, which leaves me doubting whether or not I can write it well.

I’m finished classes until January.  I wrote the introduction to a short story this morning because I was feeling creative.  Now I’m tempted to take a stab at my novel.  I’m tired of doubting and second guessing, I just want to write. 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under Writing

5 responses to “No Doubt

  1. Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

  2. Go for it! What movie was that? I usually like Kiera Knightly. Have you seen Stranger than Fiction? It’s fabulous.

    • The Keira Knightley movie was called Last Night, and even though it was really about this married couple who were having problems, the back story was she was an author of one obscure, but published book, and her writing (or lack thereof) was discussed more than once. In Limitless, (fabulous movie), the main character is a writer who is hopelessly blocked in the beginning. And that’s just to name two movies I’ve watched in the last week with this kind of subject matter. It seems while I struggle to make time to work on my novel, I cannot escape storylines in movies that remind me of my own difficulties. 🙂

      I loved Stranger than Fiction! I really like meta-fictive movies that deal with the craft and structure of writing (Lady in the Water, even Galaxy Quest), even if it does remind me of what I’m working on (or not working on). 🙂

  3. Go for it, auntie! Oh, and by the way, I’m looking forward to seeing you on the weekend. 😀

Leave a Reply

