Inception

About four months ago, I came up with an idea for a chapter title.  Just the title, not the contents of the chapter.  Because I haven’t thought of what the title means yet for the plot, well kind of, but not really, I haven’t written the particular chapter in question just yet.

And now I can’t remember anymore, how I thought up that title in the first place.

As in the movie “Inception,” I tried to trace back the origin of my idea, like J.K. Rowling going back to those moments on a train with her first thoughts of a boy named Harry, in case it would help get me writing the actual chapter.  I’ve come up with nothing so far.  The three word title floats disembodied and alone in my mind, unattached.  Apparently, memory is not a map you can trace back your steps on easily.  I’m sure it can be done, but it’s proving difficult seeing as how the original idea came to me sometime back around the season ending episodes of HBO’s Game of Thrones (if memory serves).

I think I’ll just start writing, and test the theory that inspiration comes when you are writing, not before you start.

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “Inception

  1. Well, when I find that I can’t remember what I was going to write, I go back and reread the chapter before. But sometimes, when I just start writing, I end up with a better idea than the original. It’s always best to let your heart do the speaking. I say, just go for it! You can always change what you don’t like later, but procrastination can’t be undone.

Leave a Reply

