Back to Class

This is crazy.  All evidence to the contrary, I have NOT abandoned my writing, and I have NOT abandoned my blog.  And yet, I haven’t posted in ages.  I haven’t read other writers’ blogs (as it is a reminder of what I am NOT doing myself).  I haven’t written anything in months.

Like other self fulfilling prophesies, I actually wrote about the internet graveyard of abandoned blogs back on March 11, 2011 (Pressure to Blog).  I was in the middle of a very organized period, posting weekly, trying to adjust my schedule to get back on track with my novel.  Then when school was out, I chucked my schedule out the window, almost sending my blog to ‘sleep with the fishes’ like thousands of others.

A former classmate of mine came back from the summer off having had to leave the university dorm and go back and live with his parents for four months.  He, too, had ambitious summer plans for completing a novel, or at least finding the freedom to write every day without the demands of structured essays and assignments.  He didn’t write a word.  But a number of days before classes started, he took up residence in his dorm room again, and out poured the creative juices.  In four days he wrote about four month’s worth, and basically finished his book.  Sort of like in the movie Limitless, except the only drug involved was freedom from one’s parents.

Ah, the elusive writing binge.  I’ve had a few of those amazing afternoons, where I write five days worth in about five hours.  But I can’t continue to wait for one of those flashes of genius, when the stars line up, the earth aligns itself, and I feel the uncontrollable urge to write.  Another trip away this weekend, and I will dutifully pack my laptop, and set some goals.  I can’t believe classes start again next week!

5 Comments

Filed under Writing

5 responses to “Back to Class

  1. As for me, I can’t wait for school to start! Just check out my post called the waiting game. Anyhoo, don’t give up. When life tries to fight you, don’t let it destroy you. Fight back! I know it sounds simple, and I also know how hard it is. But life is full of battles. The key is choosing the right ones to fight. P.S. I’m inspired for another post, check it out when it’s done!

  2. Kiera! If I remember correctly, you pumped out those chapters like crazy! So I’m sure that whenever the “stars align” you’ll pick right up where you left off. I haven’t written at all this summer… and now suddenly I’m back to do my MFA and I don’t know what the heck I’m doing…

    • I heard somewhere recently that inspiration comes as you write, not before you start. I’d benefit from remembering that, and I should just sit down and starting doing it. Best of luck to both of us as when get back in the swing of things. 🙂

      • Oh yes, I’ve heard that before… have yet to give it a shot though! I need to just force myself to take a certain amount of time each day to write. Even if it’s crap.

Leave a Reply

