Waiting to Exhale

I’m holding my breath right now.  I’ve been holding it since I uploaded my long poem on Saturday for my university class to critique.  I will be able to breathe again when fifteen other people (and a university professor) tell me whether or not they liked my submission.  

It seems, in addition to becoming addicted to needing consequences for not writing to motivate me to write, I’m also addicted to feedback.  But I have to just start writing for myself, and for the joy of it, not for feedback from classmates and obsessing about what a potential agent/publisher might think.  My story longs to be told, and I want to tell it by finishing my second novel.  And here, I thought my first book would be the hardest.

5 Comments

Filed under Writing

5 responses to “Waiting to Exhale

  1. I know! I thought my first book would be the hardest too! But it only took me a year to write the first book, and I’ve been writing the second book for well over a year with half the result. But I think it’s so much harder because I have so much more relying on it now. I want to take up writing as an occupation, a full time thing, so I have to get out there fast to give myself time to start making some money. The reason why I write is because:
    a. I like it
    b. I hate living in other people’s worlds, so I create my own. I think I’d die if I tried to work at a normal job!

  2. I just finished reading the book Holes by Louis Sachar. I don’t know if you have read it, but you just reminded me of it. When the boy in the story shows up for the work camp which has each child dig a large hole each day, the other kids tell him that the first hole is the hardest.

    Sorry, I don’t want to ruin it if you have not read the book yet, so I will not explain anymore. Let me just say, I think I totally get what you mean about the second novel being the hardest, even though I have just a short chunk of mine done (still editing the first one).

Leave a Reply

